Interlude

I’ve only made this particular blog for fiction, namely the Hike in the Woods, the CYOA about a hike in the state park and all that it hides: therefore, if any of this bothers the reader, know that this blog is a work of fiction– I really do care about what you think. In fact if you write a comment on here, I’ll think about it all day long provided it has more depth than telling me where you wish to go in the story, and provided you’re not a robot. You’re not, right?

There are some things that keep me from tying any loose strings in order to completely finish the story, which is why there are some branches that are incomplete. If I continued to write on here, it would go on indefinitely, complete with only shadows of what is really going on in my life right now. This is the reason my user name is Pathweaver34 rather than Isaac Craft, and possibly why no one follows this blog, unless they’re robots. I’m not writing anything popular or controversial, or seeking an argument: I’m simply treating the reader as a lab rat and giving them a maze to run through. Back in 2010, I was told if I uploaded pictures on here then I’d get more readers. For some reason I never got around to illustrating and therefore stopped writing altogether.

Everybody loves mazes, but not everyone loves being told what to do in second person. Maybe they would like it if “I” was used instead of “you” or someone’s name in third person. It’s already similar to an RPG. One possibility is to revamp the whole story and tell it in third person with multiple characters rather than one person. But if I did that, there would be no deaths, no traps where at the end reads “you have died….” That’s the real reason I put the story in second person. In first or third person the fate of the character is already chosen, but in second person there is still hope, nothing is set in stone yet.

On a tangent, as I have grown older, I have recognized certain themes in fiction that are common: the protagonist finds a good guy who is trapped in some kind of prison but when released reveals he’s really a villain; the back-story of a long lost friend of the protagonist, thought to have died, but then reveals he’s become a villain who holds a grudge; the secondary protagonist cannot defeat the primary antagonist; clowns and ventriloquist figures, if not evil, are always creepy; if ventriloquist figures are neither evil nor creepy, they must rely on comedy in their creepiness. Such themes have become borderline predictable, as if it were a science.

I’m still writing, but I’ve been attempting to finish a novel for last year’s Nanowrimo. I’m over 33k words out of 50k and hopefully will be able to finish by November, but if not, then I will choose to not do this year’s Nanowrimo.

For those of you who have read my blog and kept up but were left off back in 2010, I will attempt to start back up and continue the main story arc. I’m sorry for leaving you hanging. For those of you newly following me, I say welcome to the Park.

Author: pathweaver34

My name is Isaac Craft. I've got a bachelors in Mass Communications, an Associates in Graphic Design, and I'm an aspiring novelist.

Leave a Reply

